Since SB-803 was officially signed by Governor Newsom in October, we thought it was time to review 4 things beauty school students should know about the new law. SB-803 is scheduled to go into effect on January 1, 2022.
1. You Still Need a License to Cut, Style, or Shampoo Hair
The original language of SB-803 was written in a way that would have exempted hair cutting and styling from licensure. Miss Maria as well as many of her industry colleagues spoke out strongly against this measure and stood up for the professionalism of cosmetologists and barbers in California (see blog - What SB 803 Means to the Cosmetology & Barbering Industry?). The final version of SB-803 excluded this provision.
2. Reduced Minimum Hours for Barbering and Cosmetology
Beginning in 2022, the minimum hours required for cosmetology and barber programs in California will be 1,000. This reduces the previous requirement of 1,600 hours for cosmetology and 1,500 hours for barbering. The California Board and Barbering and Cosmetology will not approve new programs until the new year when the law officially goes into effect.
3. Lash/Brow Tinting and Perming and Dermaplaning Added to Practice Scope
Before SB-803, estheticians in California haven’t seen an update to their scope of practice since 1978. With the new law, estheticians can perform lash and brow tinting and perms (laminations). Additionally, cosmetologists and estheticians will be able to offer dermaplaning services.
4. Practical Exam and Pre-Application Process Removed
Prior to SB-803, California had both a practical (hands-on) and written test to become licensed. The new law does away with the hand-on assessment as well as the pre-application process to secure your test date.
We hope this clarifies some of the changes beauty school students and professionals should be aware of with SB-803. If you have more questions or want to explore program options, reach us here.